1820s					
Decade Years	Decade Summary	Decade Key Event	Decade Snapshot		
1820s	The decade of the 1820s marked a shift in the Colonial Office's view about the purpose of transportation and punishment. This shift occurred partly due to the three reports presented to the House of Commons by John Bigge (1780– 1843). He recommended limited constitutional government for the New South Wales Legislative Council, the establishment of Van Diemen's Land as a separate colony, extensive legal reforms, and new provisions for the reception of convicts from England. The reports of former convicts receiving grants of land and prospering added additional fuel to the reforms. The English government wanted transportation to be seen by the general population as a terrifying prospect and as a deterrent to crime. During the 1820s, penal settlements such as Moreton Bay, Macquarie Harbour, Port Macquarie and Norfolk Island were established for reoffending convicts or escapees and gained reputations for harsh punishments and severe cruelty. In 1823, the newly established Supreme Court of New South Wales and Supreme Court of Van Diemen's Land administered justice for both civil and criminal cases. The New South Wales Act 1823 (UK) also made clear that Van Diemen's Land, a separate colony since 1825, was a civil colony despite its penal functions and a military presence. The first Chief Justice was Francis Forbes (1784–1841). The Australian Courts Act 1828 (UK) ensured that the laws of England would be applied in Australia, especially that trial by jury would operate in civil cases. From 1825, English currency became the official currency of the colonies using the imperial system of pounds, shillings and pence. Indigenous Australians' lore and culture were ignored when English laws were introduced to Australia. As the British	 Female convict factories The Bigge Report Black Wars Society and Culture Entertainment 	 February The Cape Grim massacre took place in Van Diemen's Land May Thomas Livingstone Mitchell became Surveyor-General following the death of John Oxley. September Australia's first bank robbery took place. The robbers broke into the vault of the Bank of Australia in Sydney. The honey dollar currency was withdrawn from circulation. November Lieutenant-Governor George Arthur declared martial law against Aboriginal peoples in settled districts of Van Diemen's Land. The first census was held. In New South Wales, 24 per cent of the total population was born in the colony. Children under 12 years comprised only 16 per cent of the total European population. The Indigenous population was not included. 		

My Place Website – Timeline Overview

established more penal settlements, this expansion exposed	
a conflict of power, culture and ownership with Indigenous	
peoples. In the Brisbane area before 1825, initial contact	
between the Yuggera people and the British was very violent.	
This situation changed when in 1824, Captain Peter Bishop	
was appointed commandant of the settlement. He developed	
good relationships with the local Yuggera by bartering with	
them in an effort to find escaped convicts. But in 1826 the	
relationship reverted to conflict when Captain Patrick Logan	
(1791–1830) replaced Bishop as commandant. Logan	
became known as the 'tyrant of Brisbane town' due to the	
cruel and harsh punishments he handed out to the convicts,	
with many escaping to live with the Yuggera people. Captain	
Logan was eventually killed by the Yuggera as he explored	
the Moreton Bay area in 1830.	
,	
The French navigator <i>Dumont d'Urville</i> (1790–1842)	
explored the Tasman Sea and Australia's north-west while	
Hume and Hovell led an expedition to find new grazing land	
in the south of the colony, and to learn where New South	
Wales's western rivers flowed. Fears of the French claiming	
colonial territory led to the establishment of military	
settlements at Westernport Bay in Victoria, King George	
Sound in Western Australia, Fort Wellington at Raffles Bay on	
the north coast of Australia and Swan River settlement in	
Western Australia. Governor Ralph Darling (1772–1858)	
proclaimed 19 counties in New South Wales, and in 1826,	
limited settlement to a defined area around Sydney. This	
restriction of land use was unsuccessful as graziers settled	
beyond the allotted boundaries.	
שביטות נווב מוטנובת טטעוועמוובט.	
In 1824, the British Admiralty officially adopted the name	
'Australia'. Major-General Lachlan Macquarie (1762–1824)	
was Governor of New South Wales and Colonel William	
Sorell (1775–1848) was the third Lieutenant-Governor of	
Van Diemen's Land.	
Vali Diemen's Laliu.	